Hum Collective Call for Scores - String Quartet

Expiration of Opportunity: 
Wed, 2017-10-25
Entry Fee: 
Euro (EUR)

The Hum Collective is a Cork-based, contemporary classical music group dedicated to promoting and showcasing new and innovative music in unique settings. Our goal with our first call for scores is to showcase exciting new work from emerging composers around the world.

The winning score will be performed by some of Ireland's best contemporary musicians during the first half of our concert series in late 2017/ early 2018.

The performance will be professionally recorded and filmed and edited in VR. The resulting recording and video may be used independently by the winning composer provided that due credits are given.

There is no age limit however we are looking for composers in the early stages of their career. There is no restriction on nationality.

1. We are accepting works for string quartet or any subset thereof including solo, with or without electronics. The piece may have already been performed, recorded or awarded. There are no limits of duration however preference will be given to those within a 15 minute limit.

2. Please email us the following at

- A PDF of the score
- A recording (optional but recommended)
- Bio/CV
- Proof of fee payment

3. The entry fee is 10 EURO. Payment is accepted via PayPal at

4. Submissions are due on ​October 25th 2017, 11:59PM GMT.

We withhold the right to select more than one winner. Results will be announced by email to all participants and on social media on November 1st 2017. The winning composer will be required to provide parts and any possible electronic components by November 10th 2017.

Published date: 
29 Aug 2017