Charlotte New Music Festival's 3rd annual Beo String Quartet & Red Clay Sax Quartet Composition Competition

Expiration of Opportunity: 
Fri, 2017-11-10
Entry Fee: 
U.S. Dollar (USD)

The Charlotte New Music Festival (CNMF) has partnered with the Beo String Quartet and the Red Clay Saxophone Quartet to offer their third annual composition contest. This is a call for scores by emerging and mid-career American composers aged 35 years and older.

There are two ensembles for which you may choose to submit a piece:

Submissions — due November 10, 2017 by 11:55pm EDT
Details & to submit:

Award for the two winning composers (one in each category):

  • Top 10 pieces in each category will receive honorable mention.
  • Beo String Quartet and Red Clay Saxophone Quartet will perform the selected works at CNMF in June 2018.
  • $200 travel stipend and dorm accommodations for up to 4 nights at the 2018 CNMF in Charlotte, NC.
  • Be a special guest composer at the 2018 CNMF. (Give a presentation on your music, attend rehearsals of your music with Red Clay or Beo, attend other concerts and network with other guests and participants.)
  • Beo String Quartet and Red Clay Saxophone Quartet will also perform the piece during their regular 2018-19 concert season.

Eligibility — composer applicants must:

  • Currently reside in the continental United States.
  • Be born before January 1, 1983.
  • Be willing to give a presentation on their music and attend the performance in June 2018 at the 7th annual Charlotte New Music Festival.


  • Choose one of the following categories and submit ONE score AND all parts (ONE submission per composer): string quartet (2 violins, viola, cello) OR saxophone quartet (SATB)
  • Maximum duration is 20 minutes.
  • The work may have been previously performed.
  • Recordings are optional but highly encouraged.
  • Submit a bio with birth year and your mailing address.
  • $8.50 submission fee due upon submission.
  • CNMF current/former staff and guest composers are ineligible for this opportunity. CNMF alumni are eligible.

Both winners announced on Friday, January 15, 2018.

Published date: 
12 Oct 2017