36th IAWM Search for New Music Competition

Expiration of Opportunity: 
Wed, 2017-05-31

36th IAWM Search for New Music by Women Composers
2017 Competition Guidelines
Receipt deadline: May 31, 2017

The International Alliance of Women in Music (IAWM) announces its annual “Search for New Music by Women Composers” competition. Membership in IAWM is required, but contestants may join at the time of entry. This call is open to IAWM members who identify as women.

Ruth Anderson Commission Prize ($1,000)
Commission for a new sound installation with electro-acoustic music
To apply, submit a detailed proposal of the sound installation. The project should be an ongoing installation and not require a performance to be successful. The project must be completed within 12 months of notification of the award. The winner will receive the award money after submitting a report to IAWM following the public showing of the completed installation. Location of the installation may be, but is not restricted to, an IAWM annual concert or congress.

Christine Clark/Theodore Front Prize ($500)
(minimum age - twenty-two) Large chamber and orchestral works
Sponsored by Christine Clark of Theodore Front Musical Literature, Inc.

Miriam Gideon Prize ($500)
(minimum age - fifty) Works for solo voice and one to five instruments.

Libby Larsen Prize ($300)
(must be currently enrolled in school) Works for any medium.
Sponsored by Dr. Larsen.

Pauline Oliveros New Genre Prize ($300)
Works for electro-acoustic media or incorporating innovative form or style, such as improvisation, multimedia, use of non-traditional notation. If no score is used, a description of the work and its structure must accompany the audio or video submission.
Sponsored by IAWM President Dr. Susan Borwick.

PatsyLu Prize ($500)
(for Black women and/or lesbians) Classical art music in any form or instrumentation.

Judith Lang Zaimont Prize ($400)
(minimum age - thirty) Extended instrumental compositions—large solo or chamber works—by a composer whose music has not yet been commercially recorded or published. Sponsored by Professor Zaimont.

Each prize category has its own monetary award as indicated.

One entry: A composer may submit only one (1) piece in any given year in only one (1) chosen category. Please do not send more than one composition total.

Membership: Current membership in IAWM is required for submission. If your membership is not current at time of submission, the work will be disqualified. Please note that membership is for the calendar year: January 1-December 31, and you may need to renew for 2017. See the IAWM website for membership information and payments: http://iawm.org/membership/join-us/

Unpublished works: The work submitted must be unpublished by a major publishing house and must have won no prior awards at the time of entry in the competition. Self-published works are allowed. For the Zaimont Prize, the work must also have no plans to be professionally recorded when it is submitted.

Anonymous Submissions: Please upload an anonymous .pdf file of the score and an anonymous .mp3 sound file of the work. If a recording of a performance/reading is not available, .mp3 files of MIDI realizations are acceptable. The score may not contain any identifying information. Please make sure no identifying data or metadata is attached to the sound files, other than the title of the piece. For the Ruth Anderson Prize only, please upload your anonymous proposal as a .pdf file in the score upload area and leave the recording upload area empty. For all categories, please provide a short biography (maximum 200 words).

Restriction for previous winners: Winners of previous SNM Awards cannot apply for two years subsequent to their award. For 2017, this includes winners of the 2015 and 2016 competitions. There is no restriction on submissions from those who received honorable mentions.

Sharing: Prize sponsors like to know about the work they are supporting. Winners, if willing, will have the opportunity to send a non-anonymous version of their score to the prize sponsor.

IAWM reserves the right to withhold an award, should the judging panel so recommend.

Submission Calendar
The submission period begins April 1, 2017.
Deadline for receipt of materials is May 31, 2017
Winners will be announced by August 30, 2017. The IAWM website will have a complete list of winners shortly after the announcement date. A press release with biographical information on all the winners will be distributed.

Submit online at:

Questions: Send questions to the chair of the SNM Competition, Ingrid Stölzel, at snm@iawm.org.

Published date: 
1 Apr 2017